Municipio of Florida, Cuba

Florida, Cuba
 Photos of Cuba

Municipios of Cuba

Camagüey's municipios
 Ciego de Avila
 Santa Cruz del Sur

| español |

Municipio of Florida

The municipio of Florida is one of the nine municipios in the province of Camagüey, Cuba. It is located to the south and center of the province. This municipio covers a surface of 1,800 square kilometers. It borders on the north with the Municipio of Esmeralda; to the east with Camagüey; to the west with Ciego de Avila; on the south the Gulf of Ana María in the Caribbean Sea.

Note: A "municipio" (plural: municipios) is the first political division of the provinces in Cuba. It is similar, in many ways, to the county or parish in which a state is divided in the United States.

Map of the Municipio of Florida in Camagüey province in 1940.
Municipio of Florida in Camagüey province

Population: The population of this municipio in 1953 was 49,091 persons.

Population of the Municipio of Florida
Census 1943 1931 1919 1907
Population 36,091 28,283 10,823 3,077

Barrios: The "barrios" (singular: barrio) are similar to the electoral districs in which a county is divided in the United Sates.

The barrios of Florida in 1943 were: Magarabomba y San Jerónimo.

Population of the barrios in the Municipio of Florida
Barrio 1943 1931 1919
Magarabomba 14,996 14,025 3,642
San Jerónimo 21,095 14,258 7,181

| Municipios of Cuba |
| |

Thanks for visiting

Last revised: August 1, 2006
Todos los Derechos Reservados

Copyright © 2003-2006 by Mariano Jimenez II and Mariano G. Jiménez and its licensors
All rights reserved