Municipio of Esmeralda, Cuba

Esmeralda, Cuba
 Photos of Cuba

Municipios of Cuba

Camagüey's municipios
 Ciego de Avila
 Santa Cruz del Sur

| español |

Municipio of Esmeralda

The municipio of Esmeralda is one of the nine municipios in the province of Camagüey, Cuba. This municipio covers a surface of 1,480 square kilometers. It borders on the north with the Municipio of Camagüey; to the south with Florida; to the southeast with Ciego de Avila; to the west with Morón; and to the north the Canal Viejo de las Bahamas.

Note: A "municipio" (plural: municipios) is the first political division of the provinces in Cuba. It is similar, in many ways, to the county or parish in which a state is divided in the United States.

Map of the Municipio of Esmeralda in Camagüey province in 1940.
Municipio of Esmeralda in Camagüey province

Population: The population of this municipio in 1953 was 23,195 persons.

Population of the Municipio of Esmeralda
Census 1943 1931 1919 1907
Population 18,732 17,138 3,305 1,944

Municipio of Esmeralda, in the Feria de los Municipios, Miami, USA. 2004.
Municipio of Esmeralda in the Feria de los Municipios

Barrios: The "barrios" (singular: barrio) are similar to the electoral districs in which a county is divided in the United Sates.

The barrios of Camagüey in 1943 were: Caonao, Guanaja, Jaronú, Quemado and Tabor.

Population of the barrios in the Municipio of Esmeralda
Barrio 1943 1931 1919
Caonao 7,069 6,475 ---
Guanaja 3,066 2,339 1,555
Jaronú 4,298 4,300 ---
Quemado 2,729 2,238 1,750
Tabor 1,570 1,786 ---

| Municipios of Cuba |
| |

Thanks for visiting

Last revised: August 1, 2006
Todos los Derechos Reservados

Copyright © 2003-2006 by Mariano Jimenez II and Mariano G. Jiménez and its licensors
All rights reserved